The Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility Program 2022

Participation Guide
The Erasmus+ International Credit Mobility Program supports the mobility cooperation with non-EU countries. Only institutions from Program countries (i.e. EU countries) are eligible to submit applications for international mobility and if approved will be able to grant inbound and outbound mobility to/from Partner countries (i.e. non-EU countries).

Important Notes

  1. Duration of the program: 24-36 months
  2. Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) should be able to organize their first international mobility flow in August.
  3. Mobility can be both incoming and outgoing and funding comes from the EU budget for external cooperation
  4. All non-EU country institutions must be HEIs (accredited by the relevant national accreditation body) and have signed inter-institutional agreements (IIA) with their EU country partners before the mobility takes place
  5. As the HEIs in non-EU countries do not hold an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE), the inter-institutional agreements for international mobility have been adapted in order to include the principles of the Charter
  6. All non-EU country HEIs must have a PIC number
  7. Non-EU countries are referred to as Partner Countries. EU countries are referred to as Program countries.

Mobility Duration

  • students for studies: 2 to 12 months
  • students for traineeship: 2 to 12 months, (eligible for recent graduates, doctoral mobility)
  • staff mobility: 5 days to 2 months, “days of travel” are extra (for teaching mobility 8 hours teaching per week).

Funding rules

  • Outgoing student mobility: €700 per month
  • Incoming students: €850 per month
  • Outgoing staff mobility: €180 per day
  • Incoming staff mobility: €160 per day
    for travel costs and depending on the distance (the Distance calculator must be used) from €180 to €1500 per participant

Steps to follow before the completion of the application

  1. Before the call’s deadline, an Inter-Institutional Agreement between a university at a partner country and EUC should be in place, or at least positive feedback for an agreement must have been received.
  2. Use your contacts to the countries and universities you would like to propose, in order to examine possible cooperation grounds with your Department.
  3. Describe in the proposal the main activities the cooperation will include.
  4. The proposal should be linked and make reference to the Internalization Policy of EUC.
  5. Submit your proposals and answers to the Quality Questions to the Erasmus Office, upon the deadline set.
  6. The Committee on International Relations, Programs and Mobility will evaluate the proposals and agree on the finalists for the application.

List of Participating Countries

Region 1 Western Balkans Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo21, Montenegro
Region 2 Neighbourhood East Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Territory of Ukraine as recognized by international law
Region 3 South-Mediterranean countries Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine23, Syria, Tunisia
Region 4 Russian Federation Territory of Russia as recognised by international law
Region 5 Asia Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam,  High income countries: Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Macao, Singapore and Taiwan
Region 6 Central Asia Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
Region 7 Middle East Iran, Iraq, Yemen, High income countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates
Region 8 Pacific Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, High income countries: Australia, New Zealand
Region 9 Sub-Saharan Africa Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo – Democratic Republic of the, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Region 10 Latin America Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela
Region 11 Caribbean Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago
Region 12 US and Canada United States of America, Canada
Region 13   Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State
Region 14 Faroe Islands, Switzerland, United Kingdom